The World Media Summit Global Awards for Excellence: Winter Sports Photo is an international professional photo contest organized by the World Media Summit. This Awards carries forward the spirits of “Truth, Objectivity, and Excellence” of the first WMS Global Awards for Excellence, recognizes journalists who continuously improve their professional standards and strive for excellence, and encourages media organizations around the world to share inspiring images of winter sports.

Entries Open

July 8, 2021

  • Entries must be pictures of winter sports that have been published between Oct. 1, 2009 and Sept. 10, 2021.

Entries Close

September 10, 2021

Winners Announced

October 2021


The Awards has two categories; actions and stories, and each category has two sub-categories of single photos and photo series. Each sub-category presents one first prize and two nominations.

The jury will select one photo from the winning entries as the Best Photo of the event. The WMS Presidium member organizations will select photos from among the finalist entries that do not win the above awards for the WMS Presidium Special Award.


The prize of each award consists of a certificate and a cash prize. Any entry that wins more than one award will only be given the highest cash prize of those awards.

Best Photo: 10,000 U.S. dollars.

First Prize: 6,000 U.S. dollars.

Nomination: 3,000 U.S. dollars

WMS Presidium Special Award: 1,000 U.S. dollars.

–> For submission: